Add Review


Sagardighi is an assembly constituency in Murshidabad district in the Indian state of West Bengal. It is an open seat now but was earlier reserved for scheduled castes.OverviewAs per orders of the Delimitation Commission, No. 60 Sagardighi (Vidhan Sabha constituency) covers Sagardighi community development block.Sagadighi (Vidhan Sabha constituency) is part of No. 9 Jangipur (Lok Sabha constituency).Election results2011In the 2011 election, Subrata Saha of Trinamool Congress defeated his nearest rival Ismail Sekh of CPI.Aminul Islam, a rebel Congress candidate contesting as an independent, was suspended from the party, but Adhir Chowdhury, the Baharampur MP continued to extend support to him..# Swing calculated on Congress+Trinamool Congress vote percentages taken together in 2006.1977–2006In the 2006 state assembly elections, Parikshit Let of CPI(M) won the Sagardighi (SC) assembly seat defeating Rajesh Kumar Bhakat of Congress. Contests in most years were multi cornered but only winners and runners are being mentioned. Paresh Nath Das of CPI(M) defeated Rajesh Kumar Bhakat representing Trinamool Congress in 2001, Nrisinha Kumar Mandal of Congress in 1996, 1991 and 1987. Hazari Biswas of CPI(M) defeated Nrisinha Kumar Mandal of Congress in 1982 and Atul Chandra Sarkar of Congress in 1977.


Share Your Experiance About Sagardighi

Other Information

Other Categories: