Add Review


Sathon or Sathorn is one of the 50 districts (khet) of Bangkok, Thailand. The district is bounded by six other districts (from north clockwise): Bang Rak, Pathum Wan, Khlong Toei, Yan Nawa, Bang Kho Laem, and Khlong San (across Chao Phraya River).HistorySathon district was once part of Yan Nawa. Due to its large area and population, first a branch district office of Yan Nawa was set up on 9 March 1989 to serve the people in 3 Khwaeng of Yan Nawa. And then on 9 November 1989, the Sathon district is established inheriting the area once served by the branch office.The district is named after the Sathon Road and Khlong Sathon. Khlong Sathon, the older of the two, is a canal dug for public transportation by a Chinese company. The Chinese owner was later granted the name Luang Sathon Racha Yut (หลวงสาทรราชายุตก์) by King Chulalongkorn for her accomplishment. Along both sides of the canal later became Sathon Road. Incorrect Thai spelling for Sathon สาธร had been used for very long time but it has been corrected since April 1999.AdministrationThe district is sub-divided into three sub-districts .The Department of Civil Aviation of Thailand is headquartered in Sathon.


Updates From Sathon

Share Your Experiance About Sathon

Other Information

Other Categories: