Maharajganj district

Add Review


Maharajganj district is one of the 75 districts of Uttar Pradesh state in northern India, and the town of Maharajganj is the district headquarters. Famous places in Maharajganj are Mogalaha Sharif, Dargah Hare Bhare Shah Baba.GeographyMaharajganj district is bounded by Nepal in the north, the districts of Kushinagar in the east, Gorakhpur to the south and Siddharthnagar and Sant Kabir Nagar in the west. It is part of Gorakhpur Division. The district covers an area of 2,951 km². It has a population of 2,173,878 (2001 Census).HistoryThe district was carved out from the erstwhile Gorakhpur district on 2 October 1989.EconomyIn 2006 the Ministry of Panchayati Raj named Maharajganj one of the country's 250 most backward districts (out of a total of 640). It is one of the 34 districts in Uttar Pradesh currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF).DivisionsMaharajganj district comprises 4 tehsils: Maharajganj Sadar; 4 community development blocks: Maharajganj, Ghughali, Paniara and Partawal.Nautanwa; comprising 2 community development blocks: Ratanpur and Laxmipur.Nichlaul; 3 community development blocks: Nichlaul, Mithaura and Siswa.Pharenda; 3 community development blocks: Bridgmanganj, Dhani and Pheranda. There are 1258 villages in the district and 14 police stations.


Updates From Maharajganj district

Share Your Experiance About Maharajganj district

Other Information