Sangrur (Distrikt)

Add Review


Sangrur district is in the state of Punjab in North-West Republic of India. Earlier Barnala was part of Sangrur district, but now Barnala is a separate district. Sangrur consists of the cities of Dhuri, Lehragaga, Malerkotla, Sangrur, and Sunam. Other cities are Ahmedgarh, Amargarh, Bhawanigarh, Dirba, Khanauri, Longowal and Moonak. There are 8 sub-divisions in sangrur district namely sangrur, malerkotla, dhuri, sunam, lehragaga, moonak, ahmedgarh and bhawanigarh.DemographicsAccording to the 2011 census Sangrur district had a population of 1,655,169 of which male and female were 878,029 and 777,140 respectively roughly equal to the nation of Guinea-Bissau or the US state of Idaho. This gives it a ranking of 300st in India (out of a total of 640). The district has a population density of 449 PD/sqkm. Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 12.3%. Sangrur has a sex ratio of 885 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 67.99%.


Updates From Sangrur (Distrikt)

Share Your Experiance About Sangrur (Distrikt)

Other Information

Other Categories: