Chaudhary Charan Singh University

Meerut City, 245412
Add Review


Chaudhary Charan Singh University, formerly Meerut University, is a public state university located in Meerut, Uttar Pradesh, India. The university was established in 1965. It was later renamed to its current name after Chaudhary Charan Singh, former Prime minister of India. The university celebrated its silver jubilee in 1991.Professor Narendra Kumar Taneja is the current vice-chancellor of the university.Total chaudhary charan singh university students as of 2011 are 29,122.HistoryThe university started as Meerut University later named after Chaudhary Charan singh . the university having various schools of studies viz. sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Engineering. M.Phil and Ph.D. programmes were started in 1969. In 1973, Post Graduate level courses were also introduced with the modernized syllabi.AcademicsThere are five faculties with 22 UGC sponsored and 35 self-financed/job oriented courses being run in the campus. A distinct feature of the academic program is the semester system.LibrariesLibrary was established in 1968 to serve the academic community of the university in particular and this region of the state in general. In 1969, the library was temporarily moved in L.L.R.M Medical College Campus. A few buildings were built in 1970 at the university campus and the library was housed in room No. 106 on the ground floor of the Institute of Advanced Studies. Construction of the library was started in 1970 and it was formally declared open by the first Chancellor, Dr Gopal Reddy on 11 January 1972. The shoebox type library building is designed on modular pattern. It provides 2655.38 sq. meters of floor area spread over four floors. The Library is now known as Raja Mahendra Pratap Library.


Updates From Chaudhary Charan Singh University

Share Your Experiance About Chaudhary Charan Singh University

Other Information