Amalapuram Town

Amalapuram, Amalapuram, 533201
Add Review



Amalapuram is located at 16.5833°N 82.0167°E.[1] It has an average elevation of 2 meters (9 feet).


Amalapuram was called as Amrutpuri which later changed to Amlipuri. Some of the famous temples in this place are dedicated to Lord Amaleswara.

This town is also called as Panchalingapuram as it is the seat of five very important Shiva temples, Amaleswara, Sidheswara, Ramalingeswara, Chandramouleeswara and Chennamalleeswara. Amalapuram is the third most developed town in East Godavari district after Rajahmundry and Kakinada. It is hub of Konaseema for education and financial institutes. At present there are approximately 65 schools and colleges; six engineering colleges; and, one medical college in the area.
Notable past and current residents of Amalapuram
Sir Arthur Cotton
Sri Bayya Suryanarayana Murthy - Former MP, Journalist, Essayist, Short Story Writer.
Sri GMC Balayogi (former Lok Sabha Speaker)
Sri Kala Venkata Rao (former Minister)
Devisri Prasad - Tollywood music composer and singer
S.Siva under 19 cricket captain for andhra pradesh

As of 2011 India census, Amalapuram has a population above 1,41,194. Males population is 70,850 while female population is 70,344. Amalapuram has an average literacy rate of 77%, higher than the national average of 59.5%; with 80.68% amongst males and 73.54% amongst females are literate. 77,036 people reside in Rural Amalapuram while 64,158 people reside in Urban Amalapuram.

Constituency Parliament
Amalapuram is one of the 42 lok sabha constituencies of Andhra Pradesh. The assembly segments under the constituency are
164-Razole (SC),
165-Gannavaram (SC),
166-Kothapeta and
The other two lok sabha constituencies is the East Godavari district are Rajamundry and Kakinada.

Amalapuram is one of the 294 assembly constituency in Andhra Pradesh. The present MLA Sri Pinipe Viswarup is the Minister for Animal Welfare and Husbandry in the cabinet of N. Kiran Kumar Reddy of the Congress Party
List of Elected Members for Assembly:
1951 - Nadimpalli Ramabhadra Raju
1951 - Bojja Appalaswamy
1955 - Bojja Appalaswamy and Golkoti Narasimha Murthy
1962 - Kudupudi Suryanarayana
1967 - Kudupudi Prabhakara Rao
1972 - Kudupudi Prabhakara Rao
1978 - Palacholla Venkata Sri Rama Rao
1983 - Metla Satyanarayana Rao
1985 - Kudupudi Prabhakara Rao
1989 - Kudupudi Prabhakara Rao
1994 - Metla Satyanarayana Rao
1999 - Metla Satyanarayana Rao
2004 - Kudupudi Chittabbai
2009 - Penipe Viswarup - Congress

Top Schools:
Paramjyothi Public School
Miriam High School
Sree Chataniya School

Top Colleges:
Miriam Colleges
SKBR College
Pramjyothi College
Miriam College of Education
KIMS Medical College

Manna Jubilee Church,Near Black Bridge, Amalapuram - Rev.Carl Komanapalli
Manna Jubilee Branch Church, Edarapalli Bridge, Amalapuram. Rev.Ernest Thathapudi.
St.John Church, Amalapuram. - Rev. Raju


Amalapuram presently has only road connectivity while the railway project from Kakinada to Narsapuram via Amalapuram is pending since more than a decade. State owned APSRTC connects amalapuram to major destinations like Hyderabad, Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Rajamundry, Kakinada, Tirupati and many more towns. Amalapuram bus depot is the major one in Konaseema region. Nearest major railway stations to Amalapuram are Rajahmundry, Kakinada and Narsapur, while nearest airport is Rajahmundry Airport.


Updates From Amalapuram Town

Share Your Experiance About Amalapuram Town

Other Information